Ballarat's Regional Director is Debbie Marshall

CBCA Ballarat Judges' Talk

15th June, 2019 from 10:30 to 3:00         

The Charlie Napier Hotel, Main Street, Sovereign Hill

Once again, CBCA Vic Members and non-members will hear from three of the Victorian 2019 CBCA BOTY Awards Judges

  • Mandy Cooper (Early Childhood), from Gallery for a Day
  • Jo Panckridge (Picture Books), Teacher Librarian
  • Brook Tayla (Eve Pownall Award), Librarian & Children's Literature Review Blogger

Cost $30.00 - includes entry into Sovereign Hill, 2 PD sessions, lunch & light refreshments
Registered participants may enter Sovereign Hill from 10:00 a.m. onwards.

Morning session:  A special professional learning opportunity for library and teaching staff in public libraries, primary and secondary schools or those who work with books in publishing, book shops or museums. Our three Victorian CBCA Book of the Year Awards Judges will discuss the books shortlisted for these prestigious Awards.  They will focus on how you can use some of these titles for inspiration in your classroom, library or to share with an individual child, tween or young adult reader.

Afternoon sessions (participants to choose ONE of these sessions):

Sessions 1:
Unlocking the Secret Power of the CBCA BOTY Older Readers Short List:  Informal conversation with the Judges about the Older Readers Short List.

Session 2:
Hidden Objects/Hidden Stories:   Museums tell stories and we find these stories in the things that people have used or made. Learning to look at lumps and bumps, scratches and stains, what is ‘weird’, ‘wonderful’ or ‘everyday’ about a ‘thing’ helps us to get to know different peoples, places and times. Join a Museum professional to explore how we use objects as windows to the past. We’ll play with different ways to ‘interview’ an object to discover its journey (questioning) and ways we can use that information to tell all sorts of stories (interpreting). Along with the way you will meet some special treasures from the Collection and take with you some tips and resources to use in the classroom.  


Either via Eventbrite


via the Sovereign Hill website (you will need to scroll down the page for this one - events are listed in date order)

Past Events

Saturday, 2nd June, 2018 - 2018 CBCA BOTY Victorian Judges' Talk in Ballarat 

Members and non-members spent the moring listening to the three Victorian BOTY Judges, Mandy Cooper (Early Childhood), Jo panckridge (Picture Books) and Heather Zubek (Eve Pwonall Information Books).

After a delicious luncheon, two sessions were offerred to participants - a tour of the special treasures of Sovereign Hill or discussing of the Younger Reader & Older Reader categories with the Victorian Judges.

2018 Clayton's Night

The CBCA Ballarat Branch proudly hosted our annual Clayton's Night at Barkly's Restaurant on Wednesday, 21st March, 2018.

Attendees had the opportunity to hear from some of our local Treasures from libraries and bookshops around Ballarat:-

  • Loretta Kaval (Damascus College Library) 

  • Ruth Oppenheim (Ballarat Books)

  • Gail Severino (Kelty Resource Centre, St Patricks College)

  • Julie Bull (Ballarat City Library) 

  • Fiona Kieni-Judd (CBCA Ballarat Committee)

We were so pleased to have shared this informative event with our community.