formerly the Crichton Award

This Award, now known as the CBCA Award for New Illustrator, became part of the suite of CBCA Book of the Year Awards in 2019.
It is managed by the national awards committee and funded by the CBCA Awards Foundation.  Information can be obtained from the CBCA BOTY Awards website.


In 1985 Mr Wallace Raymond Crichton left a legacy to the Victorian Branch of the Children's Book Council of Australia. 

The Branch decided to establish an award to recognise and encourage new talent in the field of Australian children's book illustration.  

It was first awarded in 1988 and each year's the winner received a certificate and a monetary reward.

Past Crichton Winners

1988 – Raymond Meeks The Pheasant and the Kingfisher
1989 – Marilyn Pride Australian Dinosaurs
1990 – Jeanie Adams Pigs and Honey
1991 – Grace Fielding Bip, the Snapping Bungaroo
1992 – Kim Gamble The Magnificent Nose & Other Marvels
1993 – Donna Leslie Alitiji in Dreamland
1994 – Jenny Sands Is it True Grandfather?
1995 – Joint Winners Astri Baker I Wish I’d Gone to the Moon with Neil Armstrong & Geoff Kelly Power and Glory
1996 – Anne Spudvilas The Race
1997 – Sally Rippin Fang Fang’s Chinese New Year
1998 – Joint Winners  Shaun Tan The Viewer & Anna Pignataro I’m in the Sky and I Can’t Come Back
1999 – No winner this year
2000 – Lorette Broekstra Baby Bear Goes to the Zoo
2001 – Caroline Magerl Grandma’s Shoes
2002 – Mini Goss When Mum was Little
2003 – Naomi Mairou The Dugong Meadow
2004 – Freya Blackwood Two Summers
2005 – Declan Lee Wings
2006 – Jeremy Geddes The Mystery of Eilean Mor
2007 – Vince Agostino When Elephants Lived in the Sea

2008 – Anna Walker Santa’s Aussie Holiday
2009 – Sarah Davis (J.R. Poulter) Mending Lucille
2010 – Joint Winners  Andy Geppert (Tim Brown) Little Big Tree &  Andrew Joyner (Ursula Dubosarsky) The Terrible Plop Picture Puffin, Penguin Australia
2011 – Clare McFadden The Flying Orchestra University of Queensland Press
2012 – Sara Acton Ben & Duck Scholastic Books
2013 – Marc Martin A Forest, Viking Books, Penguin Group (Australia)
2014 – Graham Byrne (Claire Saxby) Big Red Kangaroo, Walker Books Australia
2015 – Michael Camilleri (David Metzenthen) One Minute’s Silence, Allen & Unwin
2016 – Allison Colpoys (text by Davina Bell) The Underwater Fancy-Dress Parade, Scribe Publications
2017 - Van T Rudd (text Maxine Beneba Clarke) The Patchwork Bike, Hachette Australia
2018 - Rovina Cai (text Margo Lanagan) Tintinnabula 

2019 transferred to the CBCA Book of the Year Awards