Clayton's Night

Every year, this event is held prior to the official CBCA Short List Announcement and is a night full of fun, laughter and delicous food.

  • Guest judges are asked to select Australian books in their nominated category that they have read over the past year and showcase these titles on the night. 
  • There is no correspondence with the official judges, and their selections are strictly their own.
  • There are six national categories: the three age-based categories – Older Readers, Younger Readers and Early Childhood – and the three general categories – Picture Book, Eve Pownall and New Illustrator.
  • Guest judges are chosen from a variety of library and book-related occupations and enthusiasts and change every year.
This year's The 2019 Clayton’s Night was held on the 18th March at Trinity Grammar School in Kew.

Meg Moores (CBCA Vic Secretary & Convenor of this event) makes the People’s Choice Booklet, available for all to view.

This event is also the platform were the winner of the Leila St John Award is announced - Kathy Kozlowski was the recipient this year, who will receive this honour next year?

Clayton's Night Gallery

Speakers this year were:-

  • Janet McLean (Early Childhood)
  • Lorna Hendry (Non Fiction)
  • Diem Nguyen (Older Readers)
  • Kim Yeoman (Younger Readers



  Sumptuous banquet provided by Mary & Steve Catering

  Our Barmen, Peter & Bruce

  Raffle Prizes